The Dossier
India Non-Permanent member in UNSC

After 10 Years, India To Be UNSC's Non-Permanent Member Again

India Non-Permanent member in UNSC
(Photo credit: Naidunia)

India is all set to become a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the eighth time, as the council has decided to hold the elections to five non-permanent member seats on June 17. India is assured to win as it the sole contender for the Asia-Pacific seat in the non-permanent category of UN Security Council.

It should be noted that the 193-member strong General Assembly of the United Nations (UN) on May 29, was determined to hold the elections by the use of secret ballots without any plenary being held given the disruptions and compulsions posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

India is the single endorsed candidate for the Asia-Pacific seat in the non-permanent member category and would return to the council after a decade starting January 2021. The last time India served at the UNSC was between 2011 and 2012. On June 17, India is likely to be elected for the eighth time. Once elected, India will be on the seat at the UNSC as a non-permanent member starting from January 2021 for a period of two years.

“Ten years since we were last elected to the UNSC, we are facing four very different challenges to international peace and security. The normal process of internal governance has been under increasing strain as frictions have increased,” Jaishankar said Friday, while releasing a brochure listing India’s priorities at the UNSC.

Jaishankar added that India can play a positive global role at the UNSC, “We have always been a voice of reason and a votary of international law.”

Also Read: Uddhav Thackeray Visits Cyclone Hit Districts, Announces Relief Package Of INR 100 Crore

What is UNSC?

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations (UN), charged with ensuring international peace and security. The UN Security Council is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states.

UNSC was formed in 1945, after World War II to address the failings of the League of Nations in maintaining world peace. The Security Council consists of 15 members: 10 non-permanent and 5 permanent members- United States, United Kingdom, Russia, France and China.

Permanent members can veto any substantive resolution, including those on the admission of new member states or nominees for the office of Secretary-General. The remaining ten members are elected on a regional basis to serve a term of two years.

Asia-Pacific Group endorsed India’s candidature:

In 2019, India won the unanimous support of all countries in the 55-member Asia-Pacific Group at the United Nations in support of its bid for a non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council (UNSC) for a two-year term in 2021-22.

The development is particularly significant as Pakistan and China, both countries with which India has had diplomatic challenges at the UN, supported the move last year in the month of June. The 55-member Asia-Pacific Group gets to nominate one of its members for the elections to a non-permanent seat on the UNSC. Hence, India’s candidature received unanimous endorsement by the Asia-Pacific group.

India had last assumed the role of a non-permanent member at the UNSC in 2011-12. Prior to that, it was a non-permanent member for 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85 and 1991-92.

Also Read: Curious Case Of Indian Celebs: Voicing #BlackLivesMatter But Overlooking Killings In India?

India gets support from G4 Nations:

Founded in 2005, the G4 Nations comprising of India, Germany, Japan and Brazil are four countries which support each other’s bid for permanent members on the United Nations Security Council. The primary aim of G4 countries is the expansion of permanent seats of UNSC.

India has been calling for the reform of the UN Security Council (UNSC) along with Brazil, Germany and Japan for long, emphasising that it rightly deserves a place at the UN high table as a permanent member.

Since its formation, the G4 countries, have been pointing out towards the rising sense of urgency and impatience for the reforms with UNSC. G4 nations have always voiced concern over the lack of substantive progress in the long-pending Security Council reform.

According to G4 Nations, the current composition of the 15-nation Council does not reflect the changed global realities and stressed that the UN Security Council reform is essential to address today’s complex challenges.

If deeper looked into the fact, India has been raising its voice for the expansion of permanent member seats in UN Security Council because if India gets the chance to become a permanent member in UNSC, it will get the power to veto any UN resolution against its interest.

All five permanent members have the power of veto, which enables any one of them to prevent the adoption of any “substantive” draft Council resolution, regardless of its level of international support. So far, Russia has used its veto power in order to help India. Russia has vetoed multiple US-led sanctions on India.

India’s ‘Five S’ approach to the World:

Keeping in the mind the massive changes brought about by the Covid-19 pandemic both geopolitically as well as economically, Jaishankar said India has plans for a ‘Five S’ approach to the world from the UN seat: Samman (respect), samvad (dialogue), sahayog (cooperation), shanti (peace) and samriddhi (prosperity).

“Through this approach, we seek to move towards a new orientation for reformed multilateral systems also known as norms,” he said. “As a rule-abiding democracy and as a positive contributor to the security of the global commons, India will work constructively with partners to overcome old and new fault-lines,” he added. быстрый займ с плохой кредитной историейзайм без отказа на киви кошелекмгновенный займ на карту онлайн он лайн займзайм 300000быстро займ москва

Mahima Joshi

Add comment

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.

%d bloggers like this: